New Year, New Students, New Curriculum

How mind-blowing! I mentioned in a previous post I am now teaching the International Baccalaureate Diploma Programme. I have four sections: two of C (Seniors) and two of A (Juniors). They’re wonderfully bright students, and it’s a joy to be able to really reach without being constrained by the typical “curriculum guides” now mandated by districts. I’m up to my ears in grading and reading, but I’m keeping my head above water enough to be able to read. I’ve not totally abandoned my examination of Jane Austen’s novels (as I took the class on them through Oxford University), but my posts regarding them will be a bit more rare as I’m attempting to keep up with the work load this school year.

I did have the pleasure of being asked by James Harriman-Smith to contribute to his blog series “Shakespeare and the Internet,” and my post is set for publication on the 19th of September. I was quite surprised – and very happy – to receive the invitation!

I hope to have more posts soon – though they may be updating on my progress through the school year rather than literary study! However, for those interested, our first two books are The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood for the seniors, and Austen’s Pride and Prejudice for the juniors. I’m looking forward to a great year of literary adventures!

Leave a Reply

